NZ vs PAK: New Zealand got its fourth consecutive win

In the fourth T20I match played in Christchurch, New Zealand defeated Pakistan (NZ vs PAK) by 7 wickets and took a 4-0 lead in the five-match series. Playing first, Pakistan team scored 158/5 in 20 overs, in response to which New Zealand team scored 159/3 in 18.1 overs. Kiwi batsman Darryl Mitchell was adjudged player of the match for his brilliant innings.

Read more: Glenn Maxwell resigns from captaincy of major team

New Zealand won the toss and gave Pakistan a chance to bat first but it had a bad start. Opener Sam Ayub scored 1 run and remained on the score of 5 in the second over itself. The experienced pair of second opener Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam took Pakistan’s score beyond 50 but in the seventh over, Babar was out after scoring 19 runs in 11 balls at the score of 56. Fakhar Zaman departed for 9 and Sahibzada Farhan scored just 1 run, taking the score to 86/4 in 13 overs. Meanwhile, Mohammad Rizwan continued to score runs from one end as he brought up his 26th T20I half-century in 38 balls. There was a partnership of 40 runs between him and Iftikhar Ahmed (10), which took Pakistan’s score to 126.

Read more: Big win for Sri Lanka in the third T20I

Rizwan missed his century

Mohammad Nawaz, who came to bat after Iftikhar was out in the 18th over, scored unbeaten 21 runs with the help of three sixes in 9 balls and played an important role in taking the score beyond 150. However, Rizwan, who was at the crease with him, could not score runs quickly and also missed his century. An unbeaten inning of 90 runs came from his bat in 63 balls. For New Zealand, Matt Henry and Loki Ferguson got two wickets each.

Read more: Ireland’s big win against Zimbabwe

New Zealand had a very poor start while chasing the target. Shaheen Afridi gave two big blows to the team in the very first over till the score was 10. Finn Allen, who was in excellent form, was out for 8 balls in 4 balls and Tim Seifert was out without opening his account. On the score of 20, Afridi also made Will Young his victim and he was able to score only 4 runs. New Zealand, who were looking in trouble, were handled by the pair of Darryl Mitchell and Glenn Phillips.

Read more: Indian team won a thrilling match in the second super over

Both of them completed their respective half-centuries and then made the biggest partnership for the fourth wicket for New Zealand in T20I and gave their team victory in the 19th over. Mitchell played an unbeaten inning of 72 runs in 44 balls with the help of seven fours and two sixes. Glenn Phillips scored unbeaten 70 runs in 52 balls, which included five fours and three sixes.

Read More Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *