Duleep Trophy: Suryakumar Yadav and Cheteshwar Pujara flopped

The semi-final matches of Duleep Trophy 2023 have started today. The first semi-final is being played between West Zone and Central Zone, while the second match will see a clash between North Zone and South Zone. Suryakumar Yadav, Cheteshwar Pujara and Sarfaraz Khan did not bat in the semi-final matches and all three batsmen flopped on the first day itself.West Zone vs Central Zone, 1st Semi Final

In the first semi-final match, West Zone captain Priyank Panchal won the toss and decided to bat. Prithvi Shaw and Priyank made a steady start and added 43 runs for the first wicket but after that the series of wickets started falling continuously. Prithvi Shaw returned to the pavilion after scoring 26 runs and Panchal 13 runs.

After this veteran batsman Cheteshwar Pujara handled one end but at the other end Suryakumar Yadav returned to the pavilion after scoring 7 runs, Sarfaraz Khan without opening the account and wicketkeeper Het Patel 5 runs. Pujara also played an inning of 28 runs, in the end Atit Sheth played an important inning of 74 runs to take the team past 200. At the end of the day’s play, West Zone have scored 216 runs at the loss of 8 wickets. Shivam Mavi has taken the maximum 4 wickets from the Central Zone side.

North Zone vs South Zone, 2nd Semi Final
In the second match at the Chinnaswamy ground in Bangalore, the competition of thorns has been seen on the first day. Batting first, the North Zone team was reduced to 198 runs, while in response South Zone also lost 4 batsmen for 63 runs. Prabhsimran Singh scored the highest 49 runs from North Zone, while Vidhwath Kavarappa took 5 wickets from South Zone. The South team, which came out to bat, has also suffered initial setbacks but Mayank Agarwal is standing at one end after scoring 37 runs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *