IND vs AFG: Virat Kohli out of first T20I against Afghanistan

India’s veteran batsman Virat Kohli has been ruled out of the first match of the three-match T20 series (IND vs AFG) against Afghanistan on January 11. Indian head coach Rahul Dravid announced that Virat Kohli, the veteran batsman, will miss the first match. Kohli will not be available for the first match due to personal reasons. For this reason he did not even travel with the team.

Read more: Tailenders gave thrilling victory to Sri Lanka

The team for T20 series against Afghanistan on January 7 also included Virat Kohli. He was not playing the shortest format at the international level since the T20 World Cup in 2022. There was a lot of discussion going on that now we may not see Kohli playing for India in T20. But, the selectors have given a chance to the experienced batsman for the upcoming series.

Read more: Faf du Plessis can return to South Africa team for T20 World Cup

Rahul Dravid came to the press conference

Indian head coach Rahul Dravid came to the press conference a day before the match on Wednesday. He said that Virat Kohli will not play the first T20 due to personal reasons. But, He will be available for the second and third T20.

The reason for Virat Kohli being out is unknown, but there are speculations that he is out of the first T20 due to celebrating his daughter Vamika’s birthday. Vamika’s birthday is on 11th January and this time she will turn three years old.

Read more: Riyan Parag created history with his explosive batting

Let us tell you that the right-handed batsman had recently made himself available for the Indian team in the T20 format and now he will have a golden opportunity to stake his claim in the T20 World Cup squad through the Afghanistan series and IPL.

Read more: Another veteran South African cricketer retired from Test cricket

Indian squad for the first T20 match (IND vs AFG)

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Verma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Shivam Dubey, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan. , Mukesh Kumar.

Read More Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *